search archive
explore archive

2831 total results

In complete archive


A multicolored poster promoting the 10th Annual Emerson Film Festival: A Showcase of Student Films, in 2010. Special make-up effects artist, Rick Baker is featured on the left side of the poster. Since 2000, the Emerson College Los Angeles campus has hosted an event to showcase student films and connect alumni to Emerson students. Today, the Emerson College Film Festival and LA Showcase screens student films from the Emerson and Los Angeles campuses with competitions and awards, workshops and lectures from industry figures. Info source: Berkeley Beacon 10/2/2014.


David Wong Louie gives a reading from his book during the John C. Zacharis First Book Award presentation at the First and Second Church, Boston on December 4, 1991. Sponsored by Emerson College, Ploughshares, and the Writing Department. Photo by Karen Couture. David Wong Louie became the first recipient of the Zacharis Book Award for his collection of short stories, Pangs of Love. The annual award was created by Ploughshares literary magazine to honor an outstanding debut book of short fiction or poetry.


Emerson's Debate Council: Gertrude Hubbard '56, Vincent Bevilacqua '57, John Pietromonaco '58, Haig Marderosian '54, Otilio Gorospe, Jr., pose with their trophy from a 1955 debate tournament.


From the John C. Zacharis First Book Award ceremony on Dec. 4, 1991, Emerson College president John Zacharis stands for a photo with members of the award committee. The annual John C. Zacharis First Book Award honors an outstanding debut book of short fiction or poetry. The author David Wong Louise (not pictured) was first to receive the award for his collections of short stories, Pangs of Love.


The second EVVYs ceremony, held in 1983. A man and woman stand behind a modern white podium, smiling and applauding. The very first EVVY awards were held in 1982. The EVVYs were created to recognize student achievement in television and video. Decades later, this annual awards program has evolved into the largest student award show in the nation, showcasing the work of Emerson students in nearly every area of study offered at the college. Info source:


Pictured L-R: Emerson president John Zacharis, Ploughshares editor-in-chief Ladette Randolph, and Ploughshares co-founder DeWitt Henry. Ploughshares literary magazine created the John C. Zacharis Book Award to honor an outstanding debut book of short fiction or poetry. The first Zacharis award went to David Wong Louie (not pictured) in 1991 for his collection of short stories, Pangs of Love.


Betty Hutton is pictured with Emerson alum, professor & trustee Kenneth Crannell. In 1985, Betty Hutton received an Award of Achievement from the Musical Theater Society of Emerson College for her contributions to musical theater. Other recipients of this award include: Eve Arden, Gregory Hines and Ben Vereen. Hutton (known for Annie Get Your Gun) taught drama at Salve Regina and comedic acting at Emerson College. Location: Fireplace Theatre.



Powered by Preservica
Copyright 2016 © Emerson College